Remembering life before the internet

After reading through what ICT have you seen / used. I listed the items used in my household.

Smart phones, Touch pads, Play stations, Televisions, Fetch TV, Desk computer, printer and Laptops.

After listing these items I thought I would try a little experiment. I wanted to see how long I could go without using any ICT at home.  Looking at the list above you would think ” this should be easy”.

But … how was I going to stay on top of everything, when I was use to having everything done at a touch of a few buttons and in the comfort of my own home?

Activities Now Back in my day 
Shopping( food) Order online, unpack the groceries Go to the shops, walk up and down each isle. Fill the trolley, empty the trolley, pack the car, unpack the car, put away the groceries
School correspondence Emails, text Paper newsletter, the youngest would bring home. Go see the teacher
Social interaction Facebook, Instagram, text messages ( all can happen away  from the home) Ring on a land line

Wait to share a milestone when you saw them

Print pictures

Pay bills/Banking Bpay, electronic transfers Go to the post office to pay bills
Study Online, e- learning text books Go to school; go to the library, read an actual text book

Upon reflection

Though I felt I have a good ICT, life balance I learnt quickly my life has become quite dependent on the internet and these devices. I knew I would be fine without ICT, the problem was that ICT is a part of my life; it is how I stay connected to my children, my family, friends and the world.

It is not that I can’t use pen and paper or find the time to run errands; it’s that ICT has taught me to take advantage of its accessibility.

Food for thought, when ICT fails how many contacts can you remembers??

*As a kid I could remember all my friends’ phone numbers, now I rely on my phone.

 

One thought on “Remembering life before the internet

  1. I love the trip down memory land and would be happy to only be contactable via land line sometimes. I love that technology allows me to have flexibility and deal with things instantly. Though I scream sometimes to be left along away from all devices just for 24 hours.

    I can relate to the lack of phone number memory recall and phone storage of numbers. Just yesterday I accidentally locked my phone, wallet and keys in a building to realise I did not know anybody’s number without the phone.

    What did I learn, don’t lock yourself out! Plus, have a back up of important numbers.

    Like

Leave a comment